Risotto Del Pescatore -The Fisherman’s Risotto

This is, by far, my favourite risotto. It is the first thing I’d order in Southern Italy if I were to have lunch near the seaside. Sometimes, I do miss it. Especially because in the UK, I cannot find such thing in restaurants. So, when my best friend visited, I decided to cook it myself and she loved it. I was rather pleased with the result, as well. If you want to find out how I made it, please read on. 😊

Preparation: 5 minutes. Cooking time: 15-20 minutes.

Ingredients for 4 people:

  • 320g Arborio rice
  • mussel, calamari and prawn cocktail  (I found mine at Tesco in their fishmonger department)
  • 250ml fish stocks
  • 1/2 glass of white wine
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt 
  • pepper
  • a handful of parsley leaves (chopped)
  • 1 tbsp of tomato puree

Method:

Fill a large sauce pan with water and bring it to the boil. Add your fish stock cube and stir until it is dissolved.

In another large sauce pan, over a medium heat, brown the garlic clove with two tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. Add your mussels, calamari and prawns and fry for a couple of minutes. Add the Arborio rice and let it toast for 3-4 minutes stirring occasionally. Pour half a glass of white wine in your sauce pan and add a tablespoon of tomato puree. Stir until everything is evenly coated. Now, start adding ladles of stock to your rice (I would say 2 at the time) and stir continuously. You need to make sure that your rice doesn’t become dry. Keep adding stock and stirring until the rice is cooked and is al dente

Once the rice is nearly cooked, add salt and pepper to taste and a handful of parsley. Keep stirring gently until the stock is almost all absorbed.

Serve piping hot with warm crusted bread and enjoy with a glass of white wine. 😊 

Buon appetito! 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

