Salmon and Peas Pasta

I simply love salmon. Whether it is smoked, cooked or raw I would eat tonnes of it without feeling sick.
Because I am Italian, pasta is often on our dining table at least once a day.
Today, I cooked this pasta dish for dinner and both myself and Gavin loved it.

I am trying to eat the right foods now that I am pregnant, and salmon is one of those ingredients that are source of Omega 3 and are good for a baby’s brain development.
I made this dish with cream cheese, which contains less calcium than other cheeses and is often considered a fatty food. However, I do believe that one should eat everything as long as this is done in moderation. You will only need a little quantity of cream cheese for this dish. I also used peas who are rich in vitamins and mineral and are good for both myself and my baby.

Please find this dish’s nutritional values, ingredientas and method as follow and let me know what you think of it, should you decided to bring it to your tables 🙂 .

NUTRITIONAL VALUE:
Calories: 619
Fat: 19
Fiber: 3.6
Carbs: 87.2
Sodium: 700
Protein: 30.9

INGREDIENTS (serves 2):
200g pasta
125g peas
half an onion, finely chopped
100g smoked salmon, chopped into small pieces
50g cream cheese
2 tbsp olive oil
splash of milk
salt and pepper to taste

METHOD:

Begin by bringing a sauce pan filled with salted water to the boil and cooking your pasta.

While pasta is cooking, add two tablespoons of olive oil and half an onion to a frying pan and sautè for a couple of minutes.
WhatsApp Image 2017-05-22 at 19.59.13.jpeg
Add the peas and sautè for a further couple of minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.
WhatsApp Image 2017-05-22 at 19.59.14
Add the salmon, toss and stir it with the peas and cook for 5 minutes.
WhatsApp Image 2017-05-22 at 19.59.14(1)

Add the cream cheese and a splash of milk – to do this I fill up the milk’s lid 3 times and add to the pan.
WhatsApp Image 2017-05-22 at 19.59.14(2)

Stir all the ingredients together, until the salmon and peas are fully coated.
WhatsApp Image 2017-05-22 at 19.59.14(3).jpeg

Turn off the hob.
Once pasta is cooked, drain and add to the sauce. Toss and stir until pasta is fully coated.

Serve and enjoy!

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-22 at 19.59.14(4)

Buon appetito 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

